top of page

Friday Findings: White Sandwich Bread


Hey guys! I'm back with another Friday full of baking...and cleaning and crying, but we'll talk about that later. So sorry that I didn't get to a Friday Findings post last week, I forgot to choose something to bake and then I was doing other things all day (like getting my hair cut!!!). Also, I apologize that I didn't publish this on Friday!

So let's get right to it! Y'all know that I LOVE baking bread, so it comes as no surprise that I'm baking bread again this week. This time I chose some plain white sandwich bread, and I am very glad I did. I found the recipe at Lil' Luna's blog and decided that it looked VERY good, so I got cracking and made some bread.

I forgot to take pictures while mixing the dough, I'm so sorry about that! The recipe was very simple, just basic ingredients, so I was able to get it together and let it rise pretty quickly. The first rise took an hour. By the end, it had poofed up considerably and was looking quite nice. This recipe makes two loaves of sandwich bread, but I don't have two loaf tins, so I just refrigerated one half while I worked with the other. I had to roll the dough out nice and flat, then roll it up and place it in the tin, where it had to rise...another hour.

Bummer that rising takes so long, eh? But during this rising time, my mom had to leave for Buffalo. She's accompanying an all county choir this weekend, so she'll be home later today, but I was still sad about it, so I cried. *Sniff sniff*

Aaaaaaaaanyways, the bread was finally ready to go in the oven, so in the oven it went. And it made the house smell GLORIOUS. Naturally, when Jonathan and Lizzie got off the bus, they migrated very quickly to the source of the smell, but I made them clean the house with me first. Then we cut into the bread, and ate it - and it was wonderful.

Sorry again for all of my terrible sins, I do hope you'll forgive me! I would really recommend this recipe. It disappeared super quickly here, and it's perfect for sandwich bread. My family is considering switching completely over to homemade bread rather than storebought, so this might be a good alternative. See y'all later!!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page