top of page

There and Back Again


I believe I already mentioned in an earlier post that my family is going across the country in a pop-up camper this summer. ALL the way to California and back.

My family has made great strides in planning for this trip since then; we have acquired a pop-up camper for a very good price {off of Craigslist - not the best place but if you want something cheap, that's where to go!}, we have already secured several campsites, and we are already

thinking about what we will do foodwise and roadwise.

I am getting really excited for this trip! The weather has finally started to turn nice again, so every breeze whispers of summer and every crackle of a campfire lures me closer to Big Sky Country, to California, all the way to the Pacific Ocean...

One campsite that I am especially excited to visit is in Cody, Wyoming. I recently found out that Cody is the rodeo capital of the world! So that means that they have a rodeo going on every night of the summer. Doesn't that sound fun? I really need to get me some cowboy boots and a cowboy hat.

We are going to start our adventure in Chicago, where my mom has to go to a Piano Pedagogy Conference {Piano Pedagogy is a class where you learn how to teach piano to people, mostly little kids}. We will drive down there from up here on some Wednesday during the summer. After the conference is over, we will pack up and start driving. Along the way, we're going to see places like Bighorn National Forest, Yellowstone National Park, San Francisco, San Jose, Carmel CA, and hopefully the Rocky Mountains. I can't wait! It's driving me crazy, I'm longing for adventure!

My plan is to schedule a few blog posts {one a week?} so that you guys won't miss me too much. I'm going to take a bunch of pictures and write in a journal each day so that I can capture all of my memories and share them with you guys, too!

Oh, I just can't wait for summer - and California!

What's the farthest away from home that you've been? Do you have any road trip ideas/tips?

~Catharine

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page