top of page

Run.


I am doing track this year at my school! Y'all, let me tell you, you don't know fun until you've spent a whole track season + trip with your teammates to somewhere far away. It is SO fun.

Anyways, I'm doing the 4x100 relay, 800m, and 1600m. I'm very much a distance runner; my dad did cross country in highschool/college, and I am built like him - a distance runner. I like bragging to other people about my dad's running success - that he did indeed run a 4:31 mile, missing his highschool record by like an 8th of a second. :D Little things like that make me proud!

The weather is finally looking like running weather! I think it approves of me doing track, which is good, because I do NOT want to run in the cold, snow, or worse, the treadmill. :O Spring seems to have finally made up it's mind, and contrary to my sonnet, has triumphed o'er winter. XP

So I have never won a ribbon, never won a race, but what counts is that I beat myself. I have really learned a lot from running with my dad. If you're looking to get a better time in a certain race, run twice that length much slower than you would the original length. If you're working on speed, run sections of that length faster and faster while building up the length. If you want to sprint faster at the end of a race, get your knees up super quickly. And most importantly, running is a mental sport. You cannot listen to your brain. Your brain wants to quit, to pull you off the track, to drag you into bed. If you listen to your brain, you will never get anything done. Ever. Don't listen to your pain, listen to that part of you that wants to keep going. That competitive spirit that you get in trouble for in other areas of life will be the one that keeps you going. A lust to do better. That is what you need to listen to. Trick your brain. Find goalposts to run towards, pass them, and find new points to run to.

Well, after that long, tedious, and somewhat dramatic rant, all of this goes to say that I am doing track. Ta-da!

Do y'all like running? Have you ever done track?

~Catharine

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page