top of page

Concerning Sonnets


YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just wrote my first sonnet!!! I am so happy that I could actually do it!

Ok maybe I should calm down a bit...

So I've always wondered how Shakespeare wrote every last bit of 154 sonnets and likely more. {In Shakespearian sonnets} you have to rhyme every other line, and write exactly 14 lines in the same meter (Iambic Pentameter - that's when you have 5 feet in an "unstressed stressed" pattern - if this doesn't make any sense whatsoever, go look it up :P). I thought that if I ever attempted writing a sonnet it would take me forever. I was wrong.

My class was told to write a poem. I felt like challenging myself. So I abandoned my regular free verse habits and wrote a whole sonnet - in under 20 minutes! I was so surprised, the lines just kind of flowed out of me! Here is the sonnet (see if you can guess my current main feelings):

I know not where the sun has hid his face;

The grass is covered with a blanket white;

And spring is stuck with winter in a chase,

But who can tell which one will win the fight?

The cold will not give way to springy breeze

But blows me o'er with foul wintry chill;

I don't know whom the winter strives to please

Nor whom it is that bends it to his will.

The snow blows ever on and on outside

As weary me stays in and shivers on

I cannot with this dreadful chill abide,

But summer's bliss will not be here anon.

Though summer will come back to me at last,

This winter will not stay inside my past.

So, how do you like it? Should I write more? Should I post more of my poetry? Will you buy my poetry book when I comes out in an eternity? (I only have 19 poems so far :D)

~Catharine

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page