top of page

Q&A with Kylee from {soon to be} A Drop in the Ocean


GUYS. I have huge news. My friend Kylee is {wait for iiiiiiiit} starting a blog!!!! She texted me the other day saying that she wanted to, and GUYS I WAS SO EXCITED. Our Google Hangouts chat was filled with all caps for quite a while. Kylee has been one of my close friends ever since we were 8 I think. It all goes back to one awesome day way back when.

It was another Sunday, another day of getting up early to go to church. It was just one of those days, where even though I love church I was just not completely awake. You know those days. I was walking down stairs to go to Sunday School and I walked into our room, and lo, there was a new girl. A girl my age. At first I was too tired to care, but as the class went on I started to get SO excited about Kylee. In the little space between Sunday School and the Service we started talking, and I knew then that this was a friend I'd keep for a loooooong time. And just as with any friendship, we've had our ups and downs, and even whole summers where we didn't even talk, but we've gotten to the point where we can't not talk. And I love that.

Tonight I decided to call her and ask her a few questions. {just kidding, a LOT of them}. She smiles as her video turns on. She's in an adorable Aero sweatshirt and has a baseball cap on backwards over her short, dark brown hair. In other words, the spunky, funny, kind Kylee that I love.

When and why did you want to start your blog?

"It was just a few days ago. I don't have a hobby (I've tried knitting, crocheting, all that stuff) and I need one, so I decided to put my energy into a blog."

What was the inspiration for your blog name, A Drop in the Ocean?

"Sometimes I feel like I'm the only person who understands myself and I'm the only person who feels and thinks certain things, like a drop in a giant ocean. With my blog I hope I can help people not feel alone."

Why did you choose Wix over Wordpress?

"I looked at a lot of comparisons, and Wix seems a lot more user-friendly. Their advertising is great, too!"

What blogs do you follow?

"Yours and my friend Daniel's."

Who are your favorite musicians?

"Taylor Swift and Michael Jackson!"

What was the best day of your life?

"It was probably the first day of music camp last year. Just the anticipation of seeing friends made it amazing."

What are your dreams for the future?

"I want to go to college for cosmetology, move more into the city, and then work at Scott Miller." (Scott Miller is a salon that both of us go to to get our hair cut, it's an amazing place!!!)

Where is your favorite place to be?

"At youth group. I have so many great friends there!"

Who is your role model?

"Alissa Woods. She's a woman at our church. :D"

What is something you thought you'd hate but ended up loving?

"Kids. I never wanted to have kids when I was little, but now that I'm older that's something I look forward to."

Favorite movie?

"Inception! It's very thought provoking."

Favorite book?

"The Hunger Games!!"

What's a word or two that just sounds wrong?

"Fart, and Shiitake."

What's your biggest pet peeve?

"I hate when people are fake and ingenuine.

What's a song you love that really speaks to you?

"All Time Low (the clean version!!) by Jon Bellion and Enchanted by Taylor Swift."

What's your favorite show?

"Gilmore Girls."

If you could live in any other place in the world, where would it be?

"Jamaica! I love heat and beaches."

Favorite youtubers?

"PTX Official, Laura Lee, Jackie Aina, and Christen Dominique."

What is your favorite game or app?

"Clash of Clans or Google Hangouts."

Cats or dogs?

"Definitely dogs!"

What's your guilty pleasure?

"Bingewatching beauty gurus :D"

How do you want to make an impact on the internet?

"I want to bring positivity to others, and just leave a mark in general."

Is there anything you'd like to leave us with?

"Stay bright, stay positive, stay creative. And even if you are just a drop in the ocean, make a splash."

That concludes the interview! I hope you guys loved meeting Kylee, and y'all should really check out her blog when it launches. She's planning on publishing next week, but she kinda wants to go earlier ;D

Have a great Tuesday!!!!!!!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page